top of page

Exert from The Clandestine Family: Secrets Revealed

After ordering I noticed there was only one table available and I went over to grab it. As I approached the table I noticed there was a couple sitting at the booth right behind the one I was about to sit at. The lady was quietly weeping. They both stared down at a picture of a small child. I sat down in the seat furthest away from her. I know it seems selfish but I had my own share of depression today. I really didn’t have the energy to share hers.

My number was called and I went up to get my meal. When I returned to the table she was crying harder and the man at the table with her was trying hard to hold back his tears. Five minutes of sitting there trying to eat and pretend not to hear their pain, I couldn’t take it anymore. Apparently their little boy had passed away. By the time my food and coffee was gone I wanted nothing more than to at least calm and relax them. Give them just a small moment of peace. No sooner than I had let the thought pass through my mind, the couple went to sleep. People at the surrounding tables sat nodding and dozing off in a sudden slumber. I looked over at the people behind the counter, they had all began to yawn, leaning and lounging on the counters, rubbing their eyes, and making comments about how tired they were. Feeling completely befuddled and not knowing what to think, I stood and quickly left the restaurant. Whatever it was that affected the people in the restaurant hadn’t gotten to me yet and I wasn’t trying to give it the opportunity to.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page